The Hellenic Initiative Australia

Nicholas G. Pappas AM


THI Australia

Nicholas is a Sydney lawyer specialising in commercial litigation in the superior courts.  He also sits on a number of public and private boards. He serves as Chairman of the Bank of Sydney, and has been Chairman of the South Sydney Rabbitohs, Australia’s most famous rugby league club, since 2003.  Nick is also a member of the Board of Governors of the Steve Waugh Foundation – Australia. Nicholas served as President of the Board of Trustees of Sydney’s Powerhouse Museum between 2003 and 2010. He is Secretary of the Archdiocesan Council, a Trustee of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Australia Consolidated Trust and holds a number of honorary positions within the Greek-Australian community. He holds a PhD in Economic History from the University of Sydney and has written several books about the history of his parents’ homeland, Castellorizo. He has been on the THI global board since its inception.

Board of Directors

  • Peter Abraam

    Executive Director, Royal Group

  • Chris Dolkas

    Director, RND Lawyers

  • Emmanuel Drivas

    Chairman, The Coffee Club

  • George Giovas

    Managing Director, Axius Partners

  • Betty Ivanoff

    Group Director - Legal & Corporate Affairs, Coca-Cola Amatil

  • George Kailis

    Company Director

  • Andrew A Liveris

    Director, Jalouise Pty Ltd

  • Aphroditi Miriklis

    Chair, Commonwealth Businesswomen's Network

  • Nick Mitaros

    Chairman, Leichhardt Industrials

  • Nicholas Mylonas

    Chief Property & Procurement Officer, Findex

  • Evan Nicholas

    Member, Faculty of Science & Engineering Advisory Council, Curtin University

  • Bill Papastergiadis OAM

    Managing Partner, Moray & Agnew Lawyers

  • Harry Patsouris

    Director, Patsouris & Associates

  • Harry Patras

    Director, Create Investments

  • Jim Raptis OBE

    Honorary Consul General for Greece, Queensland

  • Lee Verios

    Company Director

  • Dr Helen Zorbas AO

    Former CEO, Cancer Australia


  • Stergitsa Zamagias-Hill

    Chief Executive

  • Victoria Kyriakopoulos

    Program Manager